A Little Deja Vu

by Melissa {The Dominion Project}

You know those days when you’re just ready to come home? You’re not feeling all that hot, you have a splitting headache, and all you want to do is collapse on the sofa & relax? Well that’s how my afternoon was going. I just wanted to be HOME. My home, however, had much different plans. I walked in the door, made a quick trip upstairs, and was greeted by this disaster in the middle bedroom.

Um, yeah. I said disaster, didn’t I?!?! I stood frozen at the top of the stairs for a few seconds trying to process what I was seeing, but my brain really wasn’t putting the pieces together. My immediate (and completely irrational) thoughts were…

1. Wait. We already fixed this. Didn’t we?? No…that was the master bedroom.

2. Oh no, the ceiling fan fell! How? Why?? (It’s a spare from my parents house…been on the floor there for months)

3. Someone broke into my house, was walking around in the attic, and fell through. (Obviously this is the most logical one. Why would that thought even cross my mind?)

Like I said, completely irrational thinking. After getting ahold of myself, I called Ethan in a complete state of panic & requested that he high-tail it home. Immediately. My next call was for DIY reinforcements (aka my dad & brother) who jumped in the car and came to our rescue.

Turns out, we can thank the hot water heater for this lovely surprise. Not really the hot water heater, but the connection between the hot water heater & supply pipe (where heated water leaves the unit). I tell you, the devil is in the details, and this is my proof.

I don’t know how long it had been spraying water, but today was the breaking point…literally. The ceiling was so saturated that it just collapsed under the weight. Maybe if we stepped foot in this room more often, we would have noticed a leak. But maybe it started this morning and there’s no way we could have caught the problem. Either way, we have another gaping hole in our ceiling. Deja vu indeed.

On a positive note, it was a pretty simple fix. My dad & Ethan replaced both the supply & return lines (that take water in & out of the unit) for around 30 bucks. Only one line needed to be repaired, but I didn’t want to be in the same situation a few years down the road because I was too cheap to spring for a second hose.

And thankfully, we’re already planning to have our sheetrock guy out next week to texture the half bathroom walls. (Side note: Today I picked up the tile for the floor!! Full details coming soon.) But what a depressing setback. In the words of Ethan, “my house is broken.” :(

5 Responses to “A Little Deja Vu”

  1. Yikes! Glad to hear it was an easy fix!

  2. Oh my!! Just FYI…when/if I ever buy a house…I am going to have Ethan and your Dad on speed-dial! :) They are lifesavers!!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

