Sitting Pretty

by Melissa {The Dominion Project}

Here it is! Our newest piece of furniture, sitting pretty in our oh-so-outdated breakfast area. It’s amazing how just adding a table makes this room feel a little homier.

When we first ran across this table, Ethan loved it. I found it to be interesting, but wasn’t sure it would go with our quatrefoil chairs (that I’m absolutely crazy about!) We took a few pictures of the table & kept walking around the show. All day long, I kept pulling out the camera to look at the table & held it next to a chair photo on my phone…debating. My sweet husband left the decision in my hands…even though I know he wanted to bring that table home!

Once we got it in the house, I wasn’t so sure. But can you blame me? Look at all the different wood tones fighting with each other! Plus that hideous light fixture? Of course it looks awful!

But once we do some painting in this room, it’s going to make a world of difference. Here’s the master “to-do” list…

  • Remove wallpaper + paint walls (Right now you’re looking at painted-over wallpaper -a big thank you to the previous homeowners for that one!)
  • Paint the wood wainscot/trim/cabinets a bright white color (Benjamin Moore “Super White” to be exact)
  • Paint the ceiling (trust me, it needs to be done)
  • Replace the current light fixture (I’m not digging the basket look, are you?)

That’s just the home renovation stuff. I’m not even thinking about the decorating yet (refinishing chairs, a rug, draperies, art, etc.) At the rate we’re moving, it will be 5 years before we get all that done. But it’s a marathon, not a sprint. At least that’s what I’m going to start telling myself.

Enough on our long list of projects – back to the table! It’s made from reclaimed pine boards (we’re guessing it used to be hardwood floors?) and has a great casual quality, which is perfect for a breakfast table. Every nick, spill, water ring, etc. will add character (rather than damage it) and that’s just fine with me. Especially since it’s next to the back door & will most definitely become our dumping ground for bags, keys, coffee cups, etc.

So we’re loving our new furniture find & the Abby dog is pretty crazy about it too. All in all, a successful shopping trip to Round Top!

P.S. If you’re in love with my desk, it’s for sale on The Foundary again today under “Versed Classics.” It’s a little pricier than when we bought it, but still cheaper than Restoration Hardware!

3 Comments to “Sitting Pretty”

  1. It looks great – and even more well loved with Abby underneath. :)

  2. Abby – Tyson is ready for a play date!

Leave a Reply

