Good Things Come to Those Who Wait

by Melissa {The Dominion Project}

I spent all day waiting for a furniture delivery, and the suspense almost killed me! Every time I heard a diesel engine barreling down the street, I had to run to the window to make sure it wasn’t the truck bound for my house. Mind you, we’re in Texas. Every other truck that passes my house sounds like a big ole moving truck. I was about 6 inches from losing my mind.

But finally – it’s here!! The first piece of furniture to making a more functional home office. A desk!

Ok, it’s nothing too exciting right now. We have to assemble it – basically just attach the legs. But that sucker is heavy and I’m not going to try it alone! I need a good strong man to help me. :)

Anyway, here’s the background story on this guy….

About a year ago, when we were still in an apartment, day-dreaming of the furniture we’d one day buy, Ethan and I ran across this desk at our local Restoration Hardware.


{via Restoration Hardware}

It has a weathered wood top on a steel frame with casters – very industrial, which is not necessarily my style. But it definitely has a “we found this in the back of a dusty antique shop” look, which is exactly the thing I love! We were both hooked. But at that time, we shared an 800 square foot space that was packed to the brim with hand-me-down furniture. And I refused to buy anything for an apartment, knowing that I’d probably regret it when we one day moved into a house.

So imagine my excitement when I ran across this guy on The Foundary last month. And for half the price of the Restoration Hardware version!!

{via The Foundary}

So I immediately emailed the link to Ethan & gave him a call. Being the logical, straight-laced guy he is, he ran through a list of questions. How much? Will it fit into our budget? What’s the return policy? Will it fit up the stairs? I answered them all very (im)patiently. Then asked my one question – “But Ethan. Do we want it??”

Here’s the deal with The Foundary. They have different sales each day, with limited quantities available of each item. So if you want something, you have to commit right then & there before it sells out. There’s no going back next week once you’ve had time to sleep on it & make up your mind (which is my typical method on furniture purchases for myself). So we made the decision, bought the desk and scheduled delivery for today!

I’m so excited it’s here & can’t wait to put it together! More pics to come when we get it assembled & into the office!

9 Responses to “Good Things Come to Those Who Wait”

  1. do you have any idea the brand of desk this is?. i would like to buy the exact same thing.. have been looking at the Restoration Flatiron as well..
    please email back..
    thx,
    Pete

    • Hi Pete,
      This desk from The Foundary is made by a company called Rose & Iris. I’ve yet to find a source that allows me to buy from them directly, even as a member of the trade! If you’re patient, keep an eye on The Foundary’s site. They’ve sold this desk once since I purchased it & might sell it again in the future. I’ve also seen that One King’s Lane (a daily deal site like The Foundary) has sold Rose & Iris pieces in the past, so that might be a site to keep an eye on as well. If you’re needing it ASAP, Restoration Hardware is probably your best bet.

      Good luck!
      M

  2. I have even contemplated in making one, once I saw the materials they used when I went to the store, my question is, how has the top held up against wear? The wood seem to have a too soft top, and since is not cover by anything but just a thin wax stain, have you spilled any liquids yet? Let us know.

    Thanks,
    A|M

    • No major spills, but I did get a ring from a cold glass early on. I have a nice little coaster next to my computer to keep that from happening now! The finish isn’t perfect so I think any scratches/stains kind of add to the worn look. Hope that helps!

  3. Sweet blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News. Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thanks

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

