For Love of a Hunt

by Melissa {The Dominion Project}

This weekend I was itching to go thrift-store shopping, in hopes that I’d find some interesting furniture to fill up this place. So on Saturday morning, I set out with a little cash, some Starbucks and the anticipation of uncovering hidden treasures at rock-bottom prices.

It took a few stops over a couple of hours, but the moment I set eyes on these chairs (it’s a set of 4), I had to have them. I just love the quatrefoil detail! They’re rather Gothic Revival, don’t you think?

{melissa’s quatrefoil chair}

They’re going to be perfect for the breakfast area. I’ll definitely reupholster the seats – probably with a bold graphic patterned fabric. And the wood needs to be refinished or painted. We haven’t touched the breakfast nook/kitchen, so I need to work on some ideas. My first task needs to be a concept board (yes, for my own house). Things turn out much better when I have a plan!

Since buying these on Saturday, I’ve had quatrefoils on the brain. Turns out, a lot of other designers love them too! Here’s a favorite – Hickory Chair’s Alexandra Side Chair designed by Suzanne Kasler.

 

{suzanne’s alexandra side chair}

Maybe inspired by the quatrefoil in her own logo? I love that she took an old, classic element & used in a new & interesting way. That’s what design is all about!

This makes me want to paint my chairs a nice cream color. I need to get working on that concept board!

4 Responses to “For Love of a Hunt”

  1. I L-O-V-E that chair. You must list your resources! Next time you go shopping I want to go!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

